The North Putnam Community School Corporation was created on July 1, 1964, under the provisions of the Reorganization Act of 1959. The corporation serves the children of the six northern townships of Putnam County, which are Clinton, Floyd, Franklin, Jackson, Monroe, and Russell. The district includes 212.8 square miles, or approximately 43 percent, of the 490 square miles of the county. A seven-member elected school board serves as the governing body of the district. One member is elected from each of the townships, and one member is elected at-large.

 Within the district are the incorporated towns of Bainbridge, Roachdale, and Russellville and the unincorporated communities of Barnard, New Maysville, Heritage Lake, Vanbibber Lake, Raccoon, Fincastle, Morton, Brick Chapel, Clinton Falls, Groveland, and Carpentersville. The administrative offices are located in the town of Bainbridge, which is approximately thirty-five (35) miles west of Indianapolis on U.S. Highway 36. The school corporation is also accessible from State Road 236, and U.S. Highway 231. Bainbridge is located approximately thirteen miles from the Putnam County seat of Greencastle. In addition to the proximity of Greencastle, the school corporation is fifteen (15) miles west of Danville and twenty (20) miles south of Crawfordsville. Larger communities within an hour's drive include Indianapolis, Lafayette, Terre Haute, and Bloomington.

Home Page  Back to Corp Info